Costa del Sol, La Axarquía, Andalucia, Spain

Axarquía (Spanish pronunciation: [axar?ki.a]) is a comarca of Andalusia in southern Spain. It is the wedge-shaped area east of Málaga. Its name is possibly traced back to Arabic ??????? (“Ash-sharquía”, meaning “the eastern region”). It extends along the coast and inland. Its coastal towns make up the Costa del Sol Oriental. The natives of the region are called axárquicos.

Its capital is Vélez-Málaga. The Vélez, Algarrobo and Torrox rivers all run through the region. Its highest mountain is La Maroma, highest point of the Sierra de Tejeda, Penibaetic System.

The Axarquía comarca is also known as Axarquía-Costa del Sol, for it includes the Costa del Sol Oriental sector of the Costa del Sol, east of Málaga city made up of Rincón de la Victoria, Vélez-Málaga, Algarrobo, Torrox and Nerja municipal terms.

Costa del Sol, La Axarquía, Andalucia, Spain

If you like this, then please use Twitter, Google+ & FaceBook to inform your friends about this topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *