Golden Trumpets, Curaçao. Netherlands Antilles

Curaçao is an island country in the southern Caribbean Sea, approximately 65 kilometres (40 mi) north of the Venezuelan coast, that is a constituent country (Dutch: land) of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Formally called the Country of Curaçao, it includes the main island and the uninhabited island of Klein Curaçao (“Little Curaçao”). It has a population of over 150,000 on an area of 444 km2 (171 sq mi) and its capital is Willemstad.

Prior to the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles in 10 October 2010, Curaçao was administered as the “Island Territory of Curaçao” one of five island territories of the former Netherlands

The Netherlands Antilles were an autonomous country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands located in the Caribbean. It was also informally known as the Dutch Antilles.The country was dissolved in 2010. The phrase is not synonymous with Dutch Caribbean, in the way that the Dutch Caribbean includes all of those Caribbean islands regardless of their legal status, and that the phrase “Dutch Caribbean” is currently still in use while “Netherlands Antilles” is not. Historically the Netherlands Antilles included the colony of Curaçao and its dependencies. The former Dutch colony of Surinam, although it was relatively close by, was not considered to be part of Netherlands Antilles as it was on the continent of South America. All of the constituent islands of Netherlands Antilles remain part of the Kingdom although the legal status of each differs.

Golden Trumpets, Curaçao. Netherlands Antilles

If you like this, then please use Twitter, Google+ & FaceBook to inform your friends about this topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *